top of page
Search

The Life You Want Requires Vision, Intention & Dirty Hands

Updated: Mar 23, 2020


This summer, Madison (my daughter) and I took a pottery class together. I'd never used a potter's wheel before and I must admit, I was very intimidated by it. I quickly learned that turning a lump of clay into a simple pot requires a clear vision of what you're trying to create, intentional movements, and definitely getting your hands filthy. Some points in the process demand aggressive movements while other points only need a very gentle touch. Considering the complexity, I was amazed that I was able to form a pretty impressive shape on my first attempt. (I'm certain Madison was annoyed at that.)


Learning to do anything new often requires the same discipline required to form a pot from clay. You have to know what you want to accomplish, be intentional in your actions and get your hands dirty. Throughout my journey, I have come across many people who are trying to make a masterpiece of their lives, but they just can't seem to get their days and weeks to take the shapes they desire. Often, it's because they are neglecting one or all of these three principles. Let's take a look at how each one factors into the life you want.


Having a Clear Vision. In this blog, we've talked a lot about purpose. That’s because I believe it's the cornerstone for building the kind of life you want. Everyone seems to be haunted by this idea that there's a bigger reason for living. However, so many allow themselves to get too bogged down by the day to day pressures to figure out what it is. When a potter is clear on what they want to create, it makes choosing the right tools and following the right process less frustrating. Beginning anything with the end in mind makes the work more enjoyable and easier.


Being Intentional. Once you know where you're going, it becomes critical to now do the things that are going to get you there. During my coaching sessions, I have challenged many of my clients with an exercise that helps them narrow down their priorities and use them as a compass to plan their week. (If you would like to try this exercise for free, please email me.) This has often been a huge breakthrough for people because the vast majority of folks aren't intentional about the planning they do. If they plan at all, they organize tasks with little regard for how important things are to what they value. However, when they learn how to prioritize the activities that help them become more of what they want to be, they begin to find more control over the potter's wheel.


Getting Your Hands Dirty. Finally, if you want your life to be a personal masterpiece, you're going to have to learn that life is messy. Some days are just not going to go how you planned. At times, you're going to push too hard and other times you’re not going to push hard enough. The key is trusting the process and keeping your hands in the clay.


While I was decorating my pot in class with Madison, I accidentally pressed the design tool I was using too hard and it tore a hole right through it. For a long time, I worked the clay with my muddy hands to get it back to the shape I wanted, but it was never the same. You might suspect I was pretty upset, but it was okay. My priority was never to create a beautiful pot. It was to create a memory with my daughter during the last summer she would be home before graduating from college. And oh, what a masterpiece it was.




39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page