top of page
Search

Own Your New Normal


I know you may not like it, but our world has changed. We've been dealt a tricky hand to play. By the grace of God, hopefully things will get back to normal sooner than later. However, there's no telling how long this will last and the damage this situation will cause. Welcome to my world!


For over a year now I have been living in the space between who I was and who I'm going to be. This space was created by the elimination of the job I had for 26 years. It's a humbling feeling to wake up one day knowing the life you've known is gone and you're not sure how or when you can get some version of it back. However, during this time of uncertainty I can honestly say I have been extremely successful keeping boredom and utter despair at bay by truly owning my new normal.


What I was always good at during my career was planning. I owe a lot of this success to the principles I learned from the Seven Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey. I was very fortunate to be exposed to this material at an early age. It helped me to put my life and goals into perspective and gave me a strategy to keep growing.


Now that the rest of you have joined me in a similar state between who we were before COVID-19 and who we will be after all of this is over, I would like to offer you a strategy that may help you keep moving forward even in the event of a lock down. The key I have found to avoiding boredom and despair is making and executing a four step plan:


STEP 1: Know who you want to be on the other side of this event. One of the hidden blessings COVID-19 may give all of us is some time at home to reflect on who we are and who we want to be. Embrace this time. Carve out some quiet time somewhere to sit with God and think about your life so far and what new roads you still need to explore. Get a clear picture in your mind of the "future you" and use it as motivation to take the next step.


STEP 2: Choose to believe your new normal is going to lead you to better days. The mindset you take with you into every day is so important. I promise you a future that is built on despair, bitterness, intolerance or pessimism isn't one you are going to want to be a part of. Every day you begin with confidence and joy is going to bring you one day closer the "future you" you're longing to be.


STEP 3: Stockpile the right fuel for this time of uncertainty. When a hurricane is coming, we naturally prepare to have things on hand to help in difficult moments. The things you will need for this season of life will be the things that will fuel your positive attitude and give you the energy and faith to keep moving forward. Be mindful of what you're eating, exercise, don't immerse yourself in bad news and make time for prayer and reflection. All of these things will give you strength when you need it. Never underestimate the value of these things in uncertain times.


STEP 4: Identify your priorities and put them to work each day. This is perhaps the step that has helped me the most during this time in my life. My calendar has been full every day since I was laid off. Just because I'm not working doesn't mean I have to stop working. As I've mentioned in a previous blog, every Monday I review my seven priorities and ask myself what I can do this week in each that will have the greatest positive impact. I schedule these things and use my calendar as motivation. At the end of each week, I can look back on all I've accomplished and it fuels my attitude and keeps me moving forward. I also color code my activities by priority so I can see at a glance how balanced I am each week.


There will be many things ahead that we won't be able to control. Peace and joy will be found in the days that we control the things we can. Make a plan and work it every day. Let's meet on the other side of this better and more self aware than we've ever been.



65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page